Mismatch between SYSVAR(sysnode) and XMIT "FROM" node

This forum provides the support of Dezhi Mainframe systems. Please post your questions about logon, usage of our mainframe environment.

Moderators: sysprog, prino, sfan, steve-myers, Tim001

Mismatch between SYSVAR(sysnode) and XMIT "FROM" node

Postby prino » Sun 16 Aug 2009, 13:14

When doing an XMIT of a data set to an output data set, the XMIT "FROM" node in the resulting XMIT file will be set to "NODENAME" whereas a call to SYSVAR(sysnode) returns "N1". Not a big deal, but it does play havoc with routines that expect both to be the same. If you can do something about this, I'd be grateful.
Robert AH Prins
robert.ah.prins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy
Some programming here :mrgreen:
prino
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat 06 Jun 2009, 21:41
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: Mismatch between SYSVAR(sysnode) and XMIT "FROM" node

Postby sysprog » Mon 17 Aug 2009, 03:10

When transmit a MVS file to a XMIT format dataset, we can issue following TSO command:

Code: Select all
XMIT N1.userid DATASET('source.dataset') OUTDSN('target.dataset.XMIT')


This way, the output dataset will be created by XMIT.
Regards,
sysprog
sysprog
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed 20 May 2009, 04:03

Re: Mismatch between SYSVAR(sysnode) and XMIT "FROM" node

Postby prino » Mon 17 Aug 2009, 05:26

sysprog wrote:When transmit a MVS file to a XMIT format dataset, we can issue following TSO command:

Code: Select all
XMIT N1.userid DATASET('source.dataset') OUTDSN('target.dataset.XMIT')


This way, the output dataset will be created by XMIT.


I know the syntax of the XMIT command, and, FWIW, N1.userid can be replaced by TO.prino when XMITting data to an output dataset. The "problem" is that the INMR01 record does not contain the correct "FROM" node, but "NODENAME", which plays havoc with tools that expect it to be the same as "SYSVAR(sysnode)", in this case "N1"

The following is an actual INMR01 record from a dataset I created yesterday, with unprintables replaved by '.':
Code: Select all
.\INMR01......&......NODENAME......PRINO......TO......PRINO......20090816140709.......
and I would have expected "NODENAME" to be "N1".
Robert AH Prins
robert.ah.prins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy
Some programming here :mrgreen:
prino
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat 06 Jun 2009, 21:41
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania


Return to Dezhi systems: Mainframe

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron