Unable to login TSO

This forum provides the support of Dezhi Mainframe systems. Please post your questions about logon, usage of our mainframe environment.

Moderators: sysprog, prino, sfan, steve-myers, Tim001

Unable to login TSO

Postby tdarcos » Thu 14 Nov 2013, 01:45

I have the username tdarcos. I am trying to learn CICS and how to create a screen map. I've been programming for many years and it's one thing I'm not familiar with (where I learned way back in college we had VM, OS/VS1 and MUSIC, I actually did systems programming in college years ago on MUSIC on a 4331 using Fortran, if you can believe it) and before that I wasn't using an IBM, I was using a Univac 90/60 (a 360/370 clone) with VS9, and their operating system is radically different and from what I've seen of ISPF, probably superior to anything IBM released). Well, apparently the standard CICS macros for creating a screen panel are not in SYS1.MACLIB and so through a lot of work I found out that they're somewhere in CICSTS23, then I found what file it was, I think from this, it's CICSTS23.CICS.SDFHMAC,

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocente ... fhp3nl.htm

This one I think then tells where to find the standard IBM assembler cataloged procedure (which the reference rules here don't mention)
http://pic.dhe.ibm.com/infocenter/zos/v ... 021163.htm

(IBM has lots of documentation and lots of files. Finding anything is a lot of work. It's not like finding a needle in a haystack. It's like finding a particular colored hay stalk in 50 square miles of haystacks. To paraphrase Original Adventure, "You are in a twisty maze of IBM documentation. 30 million files, all alike.")