SDF II Panel creation with COBOL

This forum provides the support of Dezhi Mainframe systems. Please post your questions about logon, usage of our mainframe environment.

Moderators: sysprog, prino, sfan, steve-myers, Tim001

SDF II Panel creation with COBOL

Postby RXC137 » Fri 27 Mar 2015, 17:41

Hello,
I've been a Mainframe software analyst fro about 17 years supporting the system infrastructure. That said, I'm now more interested in coding. I do have COBOL knowledge, but mostly in batch. I'd like to learn how I can use panels. I see that SDF II is avaivable but I get an error when selecting it. Is there a reason for it? Is SDF II a good start to learn how to introduce panels into a COBOL program? Is there a good tutorial that I could get?

Thanks
Richard
RXC137
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 24 Mar 2015, 23:13

Re: SDF II Panel creation with COBOL

Postby prino » Fri 27 Mar 2015, 17:59

Should be OK now, provided you haven't created any CLIST or EXEC called SDF2 yourself.

Before you start, please read the SDF2 manual first, working with SDF2 is not a trivial task!
Robert AH Prins
robert.ah.prins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy
Some programming here :mrgreen:
prino
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat 06 Jun 2009, 21:41
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: SDF II Panel creation with COBOL

Postby prino » Fri 27 Mar 2015, 19:01

RXC137 wrote:Is SDF II a good start to learn how to introduce panels into a COBOL program?

As for "panels into a COBOL program", your COBOL program may interact with panels, either via BMS (CICS, which is currently dead on FanDeZhi) MFS (IMS, also dead on FanDeZhi) or ISPF. I have one PL/I program that does interface with ISPF, but it uses both IDMS and DB2 so it won't even compile. PM me with your z/OS userid and I will give you access to it. You'll see that it is pretty complicated...
Robert AH Prins
robert.ah.prins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy
Some programming here :mrgreen:
prino
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat 06 Jun 2009, 21:41
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: SDF II Panel creation with COBOL

Postby RXC137 » Fri 27 Mar 2015, 20:56

OK. For some reason my userid is not working anymore.... I'm getting this following message
'NOT AUTHRORIZED TO USE TSO'

Is there a reason why?
My userid is : rxc001

Thanks
Richard
RXC137
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 24 Mar 2015, 23:13

Re: SDF II Panel creation with COBOL

Postby prino » Fri 27 Mar 2015, 21:48

RXC137 wrote:OK. For some reason my userid is not working anymore.... I'm getting this following message
'NOT AUTHRORIZED TO USE TSO'

Is there a reason why?
My userid is : rxc001

Yes, there is a reason, your RACF "programmer name" is just RICHARD. We require, as is also clearly indicated on the Apply New TSO Userid page, a full name, which based on your email address should have been "RICHARD COUTURE". Next to that, you would also have been warned when you logged on (having applied for a userid disregarding this requirement) to change your "programmer name", with the following:

Code: Select all
+-------------------------- Your name --------------------------+
|                                                               |
| If this is the first time you log on, and on the "Apply NEW   |
| TSO Userid" web page you have not put in a real name in the   |
| "Your Name" box, you should, as soon as you are logged on to  |
| system issue the following command to enter a real name:      |
|                                                               |
| TSO ALTUSER RXC001 NAME('FirstName LastName')                 |
|                                                               |
| The admins will not allow (2014-08-27) any more users on the  |
| system that do not provide a real name! Tom Cruise, James     |
| Bond, Mainframe Lover, are not acceptable, and neither are    |
| email addresses.                                              |
|                                                               |
| THIS POLICY WILL NOT BE APPLIED RETROSPECTIVELY, SO EXISTING  |
| USERS WILL NOT BE AFFECTED AND DO NOT NEED TO WORRY, BUT IT   |
| WOULD BE APPRECIATED IF THEY ALSO PROVIDE A REAL NAME!        |
+---------------------------------------------------------------+

I suggest you go to Remove Your TSO Userid From Our System and try again, this time with a proper name.
Robert AH Prins
robert.ah.prins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy
Some programming here :mrgreen:
prino
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat 06 Jun 2009, 21:41
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: SDF II Panel creation with COBOL

Postby RXC137 » Sat 28 Mar 2015, 17:22

Hello
When I use the ALTUSER command from the READY prompt, I'm getting this error

TSO ALTUSER RXC137 NAME('Richard Couture')
SYMBOLIC PARMS IN VALUE LIST IGNORED - ALTUSER RXC137 NAME('Richard Couture')+
INVALID COMMAND NAME SYNTAX
READY

How can I change it from just RICHARD if it is not woking?

Thanks
Richard
RXC137
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 24 Mar 2015, 23:13

Re: SDF II Panel creation with COBOL

Postby prino » Sat 28 Mar 2015, 18:08

Your name is correct, so there is no need to use ALTUSER. Anyway, at the READY prompt you do not use TSO ALTUSER, but just ALTUSER...
Robert AH Prins
robert.ah.prins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy
Some programming here :mrgreen:
prino
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat 06 Jun 2009, 21:41
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: SDF II Panel creation with COBOL

Postby RXC137 » Sat 28 Mar 2015, 20:48

Hello,
I'm still getting the same error when trying to invoke SDF II (Option 6) from option 9 IBM Products....

┌─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐
│ The alternate dialog selection processor could not find panels 'DGIIE05' or │
│ 'ISRDSDFF'. │
└─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘

Do I need to do something?

Thanks
Richard
RXC137
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 24 Mar 2015, 23:13

Re: SDF II Panel creation with COBOL

Postby prino » Sat 28 Mar 2015, 20:55

RXC137 wrote:I'm still getting the same error when trying to invoke SDF II (Option 6) from option 9 IBM Products....
Code: Select all
┌─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐
│ The alternate dialog selection processor could not find panels 'DGIIE05' or │
│ 'ISRDSDFF'.                                                                 │
└─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘

Do I need to do something?

Yes, you need to invoke it as

Code: Select all
TSO SDF2

Option 6 from Option 9 does not work! SDF II was put on FanDeZhi by someone, and it is not integrated into the normally allocated libraries.
Robert AH Prins
robert.ah.prins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy
Some programming here :mrgreen:
prino
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat 06 Jun 2009, 21:41
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: SDF II Panel creation with COBOL

Postby steve-myers » Sun 29 Mar 2015, 13:37

prino wrote:... Anyway, at the READY prompt you do not use TSO ALTUSER, but just ALTUSER...
When you attempt to run the "TSO" command from READY you are really trying to run 'SYSFAN.PROCLIB(TSO)'

Robert - You can fix this, I think. In ISP we have
Code: Select all
x=insertDD('SYSPROC',  SYSUID'.CLIST', 
                       'SYSFAN.CLIST', 
                       'SYSFAN.PROCLIB',
                       'ISP.SISPCLIB')
I have never understood what SYSFAN.PROCLIB is doing in SYSPROC. Why not remove it?
steve-myers
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Tue 04 May 2010, 15:43

Re: SDF II Panel creation with COBOL

Postby rsilver » Sun 29 Mar 2015, 14:18

Hey all ...I was looking at this post and gave the TSO SDF2 command a try and it is ABENDing with me with a TBQUERY on table DGIINV. I used the SDFII back in 2012/13 and it was working ok.
Here is what I'm getting now

Code: Select all
                            SDF II DIALOG ABEND

An unrecoverable error occurred under the SDF II dialog

  ABEND CODE . . . . . . TBOPEN
  REASON CODE  . . . . . 0008

  CSECT  . . . . . . . . DGIIP10
  OFFSET . . . . . . . . 000266

  ZERRMSG  . . . . . . . ISPT034

  ZERRSM . . . . . . . . TABLE IS NOT OPEN

TBQUERY issued for table DGIINV that is not open.

Looks like the ISPF DDs are getting allocated

DGIPRINT ---------- JES2 Subsystem file
DGIULIB SDF2.V1R4M0.SDGITUEU
ISP08532 SDF2.V1R4M0.SDGIMSEU
ISP08533 SDF2.V1R4M0.SDGILMD
ISP08534 SDF2.V1R4M0.SDGIPNEU
SDF2.V1R4M0.SDGIHPEU
SDF2.V1R4M0.SDGITUEU
ISP08539 SDF2.V1R4M0.SDGISKEU
SDF2.V1R4M0.SDGISK

CICS has also been fixed I can see my example map Prino gave me

Code: Select all
 UMAT - UUR0300
              BEHEER PERIODES "MOEDERSCHAPSBESCHERMING"
 VORIG G.A.O.  :
AANSLUITINGSNR.  :     / VPV /              KEUZE (I/W/X)    :




 BEROEPSKODE   :

 BEGIN VERWIJD.:                         TYP.VERWIJD:
                                         STOPZETTING ACTIV. :
 BEGIN RUST    :                         ONONDERBROKEN WEKEN:
                                         GESPREIDE WEKEN    :
 VERMOED.DATUM :
                                         MEERLING           :
 REELE DATUM   :
                                         VERL.1W.NA BEVAL   :
 LIMIET DATUM  :                         BEGIN HOSP.   :
                                         EINDE HOSP.   :
 EINDE BORSTV. :                                      BEVESTIGING  :

 ==>
  PF1  PF2  PF3  PF4  PF7       PF11  PA2
Richard (Rick) Silvers

E-mail.......: rsilvers@mebtel.net or rick_silvers@rsilvers.com
My Website: http://www.rsilvers.com/
Webmaster: http://main.nc.us/yancey/
rsilver
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 13:08
Location: Mebane, NC USA

Re: SDF II Panel creation with COBOL

Postby prino » Sun 29 Mar 2015, 16:31

steve-myers wrote:
prino wrote:... Anyway, at the READY prompt you do not use TSO ALTUSER, but just ALTUSER...
When you attempt to run the "TSO" command from READY you are really trying to run 'SYSFAN.PROCLIB(TSO)'

Robert - You can fix this, I think. In ISP we have
Code: Select all
x=insertDD('SYSPROC',  SYSUID'.CLIST', 
                       'SYSFAN.CLIST', 
                       'SYSFAN.PROCLIB',
                       'ISP.SISPCLIB')
I have never understood what SYSFAN.PROCLIB is doing in SYSPROC. Why not remove it?

I've commented it out for now. No clue as to what it was there in the first place...
Robert AH Prins
robert.ah.prins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy
Some programming here :mrgreen:
prino
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat 06 Jun 2009, 21:41
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: SDF II Panel creation with COBOL

Postby prino » Sun 29 Mar 2015, 16:50

rsilver wrote:Hey all ...I was looking at this post and gave the TSO SDF2 command a try and it is ABENDing with me with a TBQUERY on table DGIINV. I used the SDFII back in 2012/13 and it was working ok.

Copied everything from your libs to others, and everything seems to be OK. There is no DGIINV table in my profile dataset, you might want to try renaming it and see if that solves the problem. If not, I'm afraid you're on your own.
Robert AH Prins
robert.ah.prins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy
Some programming here :mrgreen:
prino
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat 06 Jun 2009, 21:41
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania


Return to Dezhi systems: Mainframe

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests