not enough space in CICSTS23.CICS.SDFHLOAD

This forum provides the support of Dezhi Mainframe systems. Please post your questions about logon, usage of our mainframe environment.

Moderators: sysprog, prino, sfan, steve-myers, Tim001

not enough space in CICSTS23.CICS.SDFHLOAD

Postby priyabrata.mohanty » Sun 05 Jul 2009, 19:06

Hi all!!

I am trying to assemble a map inot CICSTS23.CICS.SDFHLOAD but it is not working because of space. Tried compressing it as well but no luck since it is being held by a few users for a long time (LLA,XCFAS). Thought you might be able to help!!

Cheers!!
priyabrata.mohanty
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 30 Jun 2009, 18:46

Re: not enough space in CICSTS23.CICS.SDFHLOAD

Postby priyabrata.mohanty » Sun 05 Jul 2009, 19:09

Thanks sysprog for the below response!!

from sysprog -

I have increased the block size for this dataset.

However you should use following LOADLIB for your own CICS load modules:
SYSFAN.CICS.LOAD

The dataset CICSTS23.CICS.SDFHLOAD will be removed in next Operating System upgrade.
priyabrata.mohanty
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 30 Jun 2009, 18:46

Re: not enough space in CICSTS23.CICS.SDFHLOAD

Postby sysprog » Mon 06 Jul 2009, 00:57

Here I would like to share some knowledge about this topic, and hope someone could benefit from this post.

The directory block of this dataset was full and compressing it won't help, and I reallocated the dataset with larger primary space and directory space.

It's possible to compress a PDS while someone is using it. the trick is DISP=SHR, and not using ISPF to do the compress. Here is sample JCL:
Code: Select all
//...your job card here.
//COMPRESS PROC DSN=''                           
//COMPSTEP EXEC PGM=IEBCOPY                     
//SYSPRINT  DD SYSOUT=*                         
//SYSUT1    DD DISP=SHR,DSN=&DSN                 
//SYSUT2    DD DISP=SHR,DSN=&DSN                 
//  PEND                                         
//COMP001  EXEC COMPRESS,DSN=CICSTS23.CICS.SDFHLOAD


This CICS dataset is in LNKLST and used by CICS. After compression, it's better to restart CICS and refresh LINKLST.

To reallocate this dataset, we did following steps:
    1. Pre-allocate a new dataset with disired primary/secondary space, directory space, volume location, etc. For example CICSTS23.CICS.SDFHLOAD.NEW.
    2. Copy all modules from old LOADLIB to the new one.
    3. Stop CICS.
    4. Remove the dataset from the LINKLST.
    5. At this time, no one allocates the old dataset. Rename the old dataset to CICSTS23.CICS.SDFHLOAD.OLD
    6. Rename CICSTS23.CICS.SDFHLOAD.NEW to CICSTS23.CICS.SDFHLOAD
    7. Add the dataset back to LINKLST.
    8. Start CICS.
Regards,
sysprog
sysprog
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed 20 May 2009, 04:03


Return to Dezhi systems: Mainframe

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron