Need to put some codes in log on procedure

This forum provides the support of Dezhi Mainframe systems. Please post your questions about logon, usage of our mainframe environment.

Moderators: sysprog, prino, sfan, steve-myers, Tim001

Need to put some codes in log on procedure

Postby gnanas » Sun 21 Jun 2009, 11:06

Hi,

I have to allocate my data set to SYSEXEC. Please let me know where I can put the code so that every time I log on, it will be allocated automatically.

Thanks,
Gnana.
Cheers,
Gnanas N.
gnanas
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat 13 Jun 2009, 04:57

Re: Need to put some codes in log on procedure

Postby sysprog » Sun 21 Jun 2009, 16:41

Our TSO logon procedures allow users datasets to be allocated to TSO and ISPF.

Code: Select all
DD Name   User datasets    Description
========= ==============   ===============
SYSPROC   userid.CLIST     User CLISTs.
SYSEXEC   userid.EXEC      User REXX programs
ISPLLIB   userid.ISPLLIB   ISPF ISPLLIB
ISPMLIB   userid.ISPMLIB   ISPF ISPMLIB
ISPPLIB   userid.ISPPLIB   ISPF ISPPLIB
ISPSLIB   userid.ISPSLIB   ISPF ISPSLIB
ISPTLIB   userid.ISPTLIB   ISPF ISPTLIB
ISPTABL   userid.ISPTLIB   ISPF ISPTABL


This update sacrifices some performance at TSO logon time. It now takes about 15 seconds to logon.

We would appreciate if if anyone could share the idea to improve the logon performance.
Regards,
sysprog
sysprog
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed 20 May 2009, 04:03

Re: Need to put some codes in log on procedure

Postby gnanas » Mon 22 Jun 2009, 08:17

Thanks for the reply.

My TSO ID is gnanas. so, if I create a data set named gnanas.exec, that data set would be automatically allocated to SYSEXEC while logging in.

Please let me know.
Cheers,
Gnanas N.
gnanas
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat 13 Jun 2009, 04:57

Re: Need to put some codes in log on procedure

Postby prino » Mon 22 Jun 2009, 10:26

gnanas wrote:My TSO ID is gnanas. so, if I create a data set named gnanas.exec, that data set would be automatically allocated to SYSEXEC while logging in.

Please let me know.


Why don't you just try it????
prino
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat 06 Jun 2009, 21:41
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: Need to put some codes in log on procedure

Postby sysprog » Mon 22 Jun 2009, 10:51

After you logon to TSO, use following command from ISPF command line to verify your allocations:
Code: Select all
DDLIST
Regards,
sysprog
sysprog
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed 20 May 2009, 04:03

Re: Need to put some codes in log on procedure

Postby gnanas » Wed 24 Jun 2009, 04:43

Good, I created a data set GNANAS.EXEC and it is added to SYSEXEC concatenation. That data set appears at first in concatenation. I would like it to be at last.

Please let me know the procedure for this.
Cheers,
Gnanas N.
gnanas
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat 13 Jun 2009, 04:57

Re: Need to put some codes in log on procedure

Postby prino » Wed 24 Jun 2009, 06:44

gnanas wrote:Good, I created a data set GNANAS.EXEC and it is added to SYSEXEC concatenation. That data set appears at first in concatenation. I would like it to be at last.

Please let me know the procedure for this.


Any particular reason why it has to be last?

Anyway, there is no way to get it there using the standard logon procedure. If you really need it this way, create an exec or clist that does the allocations the way you want them, get out of ISPF to the READY prompt and execute it.
Robert AH Prins
robert.ah.prins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy
Some programming here :mrgreen:
prino
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat 06 Jun 2009, 21:41
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: Need to put some codes in log on procedure

Postby gnanas » Wed 24 Jun 2009, 08:49

Prino, thanks for your reply.
Any particular reason why it has to be last?
Whenever I enter TSO commands, first those should be searched in default EXEC libraries before searching my library.

In my shop, I allocate like below in log on procedure.
Code: Select all
"AAT90 F(SYSPROC) DA(GNANAS.REXX.EXEC) AFTER" 

Here AAT90 is home-grown program which would add a data set to concatenation group.

Please let me know.
Cheers,
Gnanas N.
gnanas
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat 13 Jun 2009, 04:57

Re: Need to put some codes in log on procedure

Postby prino » Wed 24 Jun 2009, 08:56

gnanas wrote:
prino wrote:Any particular reason why it has to be last?
Whenever I enter TSO commands, first those should be searched in default EXEC libraries before searching my library.


With all respect, that does not make any sense at all!

The reason people add personal libraries to SYSEXEC etc, is to override system provided commands/panels/etc. If you create only your own commands, it doesn't really matter where 'gnanas.exec' ends up!
Robert AH Prins
robert.ah.prins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy
Some programming here :mrgreen:
prino
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat 06 Jun 2009, 21:41
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: Need to put some codes in log on procedure

Postby gnanas » Wed 24 Jun 2009, 09:00

Duly noted.

Prino, thanks for your kind explanation. :)
Cheers,
Gnanas N.
gnanas
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat 13 Jun 2009, 04:57

Re: Need to put some codes in log on procedure

Postby sysprog » Wed 24 Jun 2009, 12:52

Thanks Prino for your clear explanation.

If you are obsessed of the logon allocations, as well as TSO/ISPF, you could design your own TSO allocations and ISPF panels, in our system.

We supply a REXX program handle the TSO logon allocation, as well as software start allocations. The program is called SYSFAN.REXXLIB(ISP). You can provide your own logon program in your SYSEXEC dataset, even you can make your dataset at the last of concatenation of SYSEXEC DD (although as Prino mentioned, it is a unique situation that people normally don't do).

In addition, you could provide your own ISPF panels, starting from the primary panel (the first panel you see after you logon to TSO/ISPF). To do this, you need to provide your own ISR@PRIM member in your own userid.ISPPLIB. Refer SYSFAN.ISPPLIB(ISR@PRIM) member for example.
Regards,
sysprog
sysprog
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed 20 May 2009, 04:03

Re: Need to put some codes in log on procedure

Postby prino » Wed 24 Jun 2009, 16:13

sysprog wrote:In addition, you could provide your own ISPF panels, starting from the primary panel (the first panel you see after you logon to TSO/ISPF). To do this, you need to provide your own ISR@PRIM member in your own userid.ISPPLIB. Refer SYSFAN.ISPPLIB(ISR@PRIM) member for example.


It doesn't even have to be called ISR@PRIM, you can invoke ISPF as "ISPF PANEL(whatever)" and it will happily assume that "whatever" is the primary panel. :)
Robert AH Prins
robert.ah.prins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy
Some programming here :mrgreen:
prino
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat 06 Jun 2009, 21:41
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania


Return to Dezhi systems: Mainframe

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests